Minutes of the VSCS Board of Trustees Nominating Committee meeting held Monday, March 23, 2020 via teleconference - APPROVED

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees Nominating Committee conducted a meeting Monday, March 23, 2020, via conference call.

Committee members present: Lynn Dickinson (Chair), Janette Bombardier, Bill Lippert (3:14)

Additional Board members present: Church Hindes

From the Chancellor's Office: Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor

Jen Porrier, Administrative Director

Chair Dickinson called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

1. Approval of Minutes

<u>Trustee Bombardier moved and Trustee Dickinson seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the February 22, 2019 meeting. The motion was approved unanimously.</u>

<u>Trustee Bombardier moved and Trustee Dickinson seconded the motion to approve the minutes of</u> the February 27, 2019 meeting. The motion was approved unanimously.

2. Update on Board member elections, terms and status

Legislative Trustees Dickinson and Lippert were reelected to new 4-year terms. Student Trustee Gogarty's term concludes May 30, 2020, however the VSCSA is not currently active due to COVID-19 in order to nominate a new Trustee, therefore that seat might be vacant when Trustee Gogarty graduates in May, 2020, until the fall semester.

3. Nomination of Board officers for the 2020-2021 term

<u>Trustee Bombardier moved and Trustee Dickinson seconded the motion to recommend to the Board the election of Vice Chair Lynn Dickinson, Secretary Megan Cluver, and Treasurer David Silverman. The motion passed unanimously.</u>

4. Nomination of the Board Chair for a 2020-2022 term

Chair Hindes indicated he is willing to serve as Chair of the Board if he is nominated and elected. After discussion, the Committee agreed.

Trustee Bombardier moved and Trustee Dickinson seconded the motion to recommend to the Board the approval and election of Trustee Hindes as Chair of the Board for the two year term from 2020-2022. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Nomination of Audit Committee members for the 2020-2021 term

<u>Trustee Dickinson moved and Trustee Bombardier seconded the motion to recommend to the board that Linda Milne (Chair), David Silverman (Vice-Chair), Megan Cluver, Lynn Dickinson, and Karen Luneau be elected to the Audit Committee. The motion passed unanimously.</u>

6. Nominating the Nominating Committee for 2020-2021

The Committee discussed the possibility of altering the wording in the handbook to reflect a "minimum of three members" on the Nominating Committee. The Committee would like to extend an invitation to Trustee Grinold to join all Nominating Committee meetings going forward as a guest, until the wording is officially changed in the handbook.

Trustee Lippert moved and Trustee Bombardier seconded the motion to recommend to the Board that Janette Bombardier, Lynn Dickinson and Bill Lippert continue as members on the Nominating Committee. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Dickenson adjourned the meeting at 3:40 p.m.