Minutes of the VSCS Board of Trustees Special Meeting held Monday, June 1, 2020, at 12:50pm via ZOOM – APPROVED

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees met on Monday, June 1, 2020, via ZOOM.

Board members present: Churchill Hindes (Chair), Megan Cluver, Ryan Cooney, Lynn Dickinson, Dylan Giambatista, Peg Flory, Adam Grinold, Bill Lippert, Karen Luneau, Jim Masland, Linda Milne, Mike Pieciak, David Silverman

Absent: Janette Bombardier

Presidents:	Joyce Judy
Chancellor's Office Staff:	Donny Bazluke, Network/Security Analyst Todd Daloz, Interim General Counsel Jen Porrier, Administrative Director Meg Walz, Director, Program Manager Steve Wisloski, Chief Financial Officer Yasmine Ziesler, Chief Academic Officer Sophie Zdatny, Interim Chancellor
From the Colleges:	 Sarah Chambers, Coordinator of Instructional Technology, Castleton University Michael Fox, Dean of Enrollment & Marketing, Northern Vermont University Karen Madden, Director of Academic Support Services, Northern Vermont University Sandra Noyes, President, VSC Staff Federation, Northern Vermont University Linda Olson, VP Education AFT-VT, Castleton University Maurice Ouimet, Dean of Enrollment, Castleton University Sharron Scott, Dean of Administration, Northern Vermont University Michael Steven, Director of Facilities, Northern Vermont University Beth Walsh, President, VSCUP, Northern Vermont University
From the Public:	Lola Duffort, Reporter, VT Digger Amy Nixon, Reporter, Caledonian Record

1. Welcome and Roll call

Chair Hindes called the meeting to order at 12:51pm.

2. Establishing an Ad Hoc Search Committee for Interim Chancellor

Chair Hindes stated that the purpose for this special Board meeting is to formally establish an ad hoc Search Committee for the Long-Term Interim Chancellor. (See attached Resolution 2020-003)

<u>Trustee Flory moved that the Board adopt the Resolution establishing an Ad Hoc Search</u> <u>Committee for an Interim Chancellor. Trustee Luneau seconded the motion for approval</u> <u>of Resolution 2020-003. The motion passed unanimously.</u>

Chair Hindes appointed himself and Trustees Masland, Grinold, Cluver, Dickinson, Cooney and Luneau to the Committee. The Committee will meet on Tuesdays at 1:00 p.m. and Thursdays at 3:00 p.m. at least through the month of June.

3. Appointment of System Wide Task Force

Adding to the agenda, Chair Hindes discussed the appointment of a system-wide task force called "VSCS Forward". This task force will focus on the transition year ahead and will be comprised of representatives from all four institutions and one representative from the Chancellor's Office. (See attached Resolution 2020-004). The Board discussed the possibility of requesting the Long Range Planning Committee take up this resolution first but instead decided to adopt the resolution directly.

<u>Trustee Lippert moved that the Board adopt the Resolution Establishing a Task Force for</u> <u>System-Wide Transformation. Trustee Pieciak seconded the motion for approval of</u> <u>Resolution 2020-004. The motion passed unanimously.</u>

Chair Hindes adjourned the meeting at 1:07 pm.