VSC Board of Trustees June 19, 2019 Executive Committee Meeting Minutes--APPROVED

## Minutes of the VSC Board of Trustees Executive Committee meeting held Wednesday June 19, 2019 in the 1787 Room at Castleton University, Castleton, VT- APPROVED

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees Executive Committee conducted a Committee meeting on Wednesday June 19, 2019 at Castleton University

Executive Committee members present:

Churchill Hindes (Chair), Karen Luneau, Lynn Dickinson (Vice

Chair)

Absent: Linda Milne

Chancellor's Office Staff: Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor

Chair Hindes called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

## 1. Hall of Fame discussion

The Executive Committee agreed to recommend to the Board to hold the Hall of Fame in 2020, to reevaluate and update the criteria for honoree selection in the coming weeks, that the Presidents should refrain from nominating their honorees until the criteria are finalized and that each President should nominate two candidates for the Boards approval at the September 17, 2019 Board Retreat.

Trustee Luneau moved and Trustee Dickinson seconded the motion to recommend to the Board holding the Hall of Fame in 2020, reevaluating candidate criteria and require two names be submitted for consideration by each President at the September 17, 2019 meeting. The motion was approved unanimously.

At 5:50 p.m. Trustee Dickinson moved that the Executive Committee of the VSC Board of Trustees enter executive session, pursuant to 1 V.S.A. § 313(a)(3) to discuss the evaluation and employment of public employees. The Committee shall make a final decision to reappoint any such public employee in an open meeting and shall explain the reasons for this final decision during the open meeting. Along with the members of the Board present at the meeting, in its discretion, the Committee invited the Chancellor to attend. Trustee Luneau seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The Committee exited Executive Session at 6:15 p.m.

Trustee Dickinson moved that the Executive Committee recommend to the Board of Trustees that Elaine Collins, President, Northern Vermont University; Patricia Moulton, President,

VSC Board of Trustees June 19, 2019 Executive Committee Meeting Minutes--APPROVED

Vermont Technical College; Joyce Judy, President, Community College of Vermont; and Karen Scolforo, President, Castleton University each be reappointed for a term of two years based on each president's performance during the past year, the Chancellor's evaluation of each president, and for the reasons discussed during the Committee's executive session. The Committee believes each president remains the best candidate to lead her institution.

Trustee Dickinson further moved that the Committee recommend to the Board that Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor of the Vermont State Colleges System, be reappointed for a term of one year based on his performance during the past year and the Committee's evaluation of his work, as discussed during the executive session. The Committee believes the Chancellor remains the best candidate to lead the System as a whole. Trustee Luneau seconded this motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Hindes adjourned the meeting at 3:10 p.m.