## Minutes of the VSC Board of Trustees Education, Personnel, and Student Life Committee meeting held Saturday, March 24, 2018 at Couture Room, 108, 1 Abenaki Way, Community College of Vermont, Winooski, VT

The VSC Board of Trustees Education, Personnel, and Student Life Committee met on Saturday March 24, 2018 at Community College, Winooski, Vermont

Committee Members present: Aly Richard (Chair), Shavonna Bent, Lynn Dickinson, and Janette Bombardier

Absent: Jim Masland, Karen Luneau

Other Trustees Present: Church Hindes, Jerry Diamond,

Presidents: Elaine Collins, Joyce Judy, Pat Moulton, Karen Scolforo

Chancellor's Office Staff: Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor

Tricia Coates, Director of External & Governmental Affairs

Todd Daloz, Associate General Counsel Kevin Conroy, Chief Information Officer

Sheilah Evans, System Controller & Senior Director of Financial

**Operations** 

Steve Wisloski, Chief Financial Officer

Sophie Zdatny, General Counsel

Yasmine Ziesler, Chief Academic Officer

Harriet Johnson, Executive Assistant to the Chancellor

From the Colleges: Laura Jakubowski, Director of Finance, Castleton University

Lisa Cline, Johnson State College, Faculty Federation President

Barbara Martin, Dean of Administration, Community College of Vermont

Beth Walsh, President, Academic Support, Johnson State College Eric Sakai, Dean of Academic Technology, Community College of

Vermont

Nolan Atkins, Provost, Lyndon State College

Jonathan Spiro, Chief Academic Officer, Castleton University

Bridget Donnelly, Executive Assistant to President, Community College

of Vermont

Sharron Scott, Johnson State College,

Katie Mobley, Executive Director Academic Centers, Community College

of Vermont

Allan Rodgers, Dean of Academic Affairs, Community College of Vermont

Guests: Dr. Ellen B. Grimes

Dr. Cheyanne E. Warren

## 1. Call to Order

Chair Richards called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

1. Approval of the December 1, 2017 minutes

<u>December 1, 2017 meeting minutes should reflect the following corrections. Correct spelling of EPSL, and delete second reference of Shavonna Bent attending the meeting.</u>

<u>Trustee Dickinson moved, seconded by Trustee Bombardier. The minutes were approved unanimously.</u>

2. <u>Information Updates: System Academic Retreat and Admissions Guarantee</u>

Chair Richards gave a brief introduction followed by Chief Academic Officer Yasmine Ziesler, who provided an overview of the upcoming Academic Retreat titled: "Paths to Graduation: Supporting Student Planning, Purpose, and Persistence."

Dr. Ziesler also provided a brief overview of the Career and College Ready Admissions Guarantee which focused on Vermont's preK-12 public education system and guarantees general admission to all Vermont high school graduates who seek to enroll in the VSCS within one year of high school graduation that meet the criteria. The VSCS is working in partnership with the Vermont Agency of Education on this initiative.

3. <u>Vermont Tech: Policy 102 New Program Proposal for Dental Therapy</u>

VTC President Patricia Moulton discussed their proposal for a new dental therapy program which was in response to 2016 legislation that was passed enabling dentists to hire dental therapist. Dr. Ellen Grimes and Dr. Cheyanne Warren, along with Allan Rodgers, Dean of Academic affairs, provided an overview of the proposed program which would build on the existing dental hygiene degree in order to academically and clinically prepare students to enter the new dental profession of dental therapy.

Trustee Lynn Dickinson expressed concerns about the program and had several questions including costs and training, and the interest in the program around the state. Trustee Dickinson requested additional research of the program. After further committee discussion, <u>Trustee</u>

<u>Bombardier moved to recommend to the board for approval the new B.S. in Oral Health</u>

<u>Science and M.S. in Dental Therapy program, per Policy 102, as proposed by Vermont</u>

<u>Technical College in the committee materials, seconded by Student Trustee Shavonna Bent.</u>

Trustee Dickinson abstained from the vote. The motion passed 3 to 1.

4. Policy 109 Annual Enrollment and Cost Effectiveness Review of Programs

Chair Richards provided an overview of Policy 109 on program enrollment trends within the colleges. Each college then presented their report and corresponding data as outlined in the materials provided.

5. VSC Faculty Fellow Recommendations for Awards

Northern Vermont University President Elaine Collins discussed their nominee, Dr. Hans Haverkamp.

Castleton University President Karen Scolforo discussed their nominee, Dr. Sherrill Blodget, Associate Professor of Music.

Trustee Bombardier moved and Student Representative Bent seconded recommending to the board the resolutions awarding VSC Faculty Fellowships for Johnson State College's Dr. Hans Haverkamp and Castleton University's Dr. Sherrill Blodget. The Committee approved the motion unanimously.

6. Honorary Doctorate awards (Policy 107)

Castleton University President Karen Scolforo discussed their nominee, for Chris Bohjalian and Stephen Kiernan.

Northern Vermont University President Elaine Collins discussed their nominee, Walter Mosely for Johnson State College, and Jim Cantore for Lyndon State College.

<u>Trustee Dickinson moved and Trustee Bent seconded recommending to the board the resolutions awarding the following Honorary Doctorates:</u>

<u>Chris Bohjalian an honorary doctorate in Humane Letters at Castleton University's 2018</u> commencement.

<u>Stephen Kiernan an honorary doctorate in Humane Letters at Castleton University's 2018 commencement</u>

<u>Jim Cantore an honorary doctorate in Science at Lyndon State College's 2018 commencement.</u>

Walter Mosely an honorary doctorate in Human Letters at Johnson State College's 2018 commencement.

The Committee approved the motion unanimously.

7. Faculty Emeritus award (Policy 204)

Northern Vermont University President Elaine Collins discussed their nominee, Dr. William Doyle.

Trustee Dickinson moved and Trustee Bombardier seconded a motion to recommend to the board the resolution granting Faculty Emeritus Status to Johnson State College's Dr. William Doyle. The Committee approved the resolution unanimously.

8. Follow up to Long Range Planning Committee discussion of associate degree awards

Trustee Hindes provided background of the VSC System Start to Finish initiative and options to address students leaving with debt and no degree.

Chair Richards and Dr. Ziesler discussed the 3 potential strategies outlined for consideration. 1) Annually evaluate all enrolled students who achieved 61-75 credits and award a general associate degree to all who qualify, either "automatically" (without student consent) or with an "opt-in" consent process; 2) Annually identify at-risk students who achieve 31-45 credits and provide intensive advising with potential redirection to a different degree program or credential; and 3) Develop and offer to students a 30-credit "VSC College and Career Core" Certificate, similar to CCV's existing 24-credit Workplace Skills certificate, that would be aligned with a VSC-wide common 21-credit core of associate degree-level general education requirements.

Student Representative Shavonna Bent expressed concerns as President of the Student Government Association about the automatic granting of an associate's degree and would prefer having an option for the student to apply for the degree. Trustee Diamond stated he would like to see the degree be almost automatic for student. The Committee identified strategies 2 and 3 as first priorities, and discussed the need for there to be clear measurements of progress associated with the implementation of these strategies.

## 9. Other Business

No other business.

## 10. Comments from the public

There were no comments from the public.

Chair Richards adjourned the meeting at 11:22 a.m.