Minutes of the VSC Board of Trustees Special Meeting held Monday, December 11, 2017 at the Office of the Chancellor, Montpelier, VT via conference call – APPROVED March 24, 2018

Note: These are unapproved minutes, subject to amendment and/or approval at the subsequent meeting.

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees held special meeting on Monday, December 11, 2017 for the purpose of an administrative matter involving the unification of Lyndon State College and Johnson State College and a transitional name change for the purposes of federal student aid and the Department of Education.

Trustees present on the phone: Tim Jerman (Vice Chair), Lynn Dickinson, Church Hindes, Chris Macfarlane, Karen Luneau, Janette Bombardier, Aly Richards, Shavonna Bent. Trustee Jerry Diamond was present at the Chancellors Office at 575 Stone Cutters Way, Montpelier, VT

Absent: Martha O'Connor, Linda Milne, Michael Pieciak and Bill Lippert

Chancellor's Office Staff: Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor

Tricia Coates, Director of External & Governmental Affairs Harriet Johnson, Executive Assistant to the Chancellor

Sophie Zdatny, General Counsel

From the Colleges: Sharron Scott, Dean of Administration, Johnson State College

Vice Chair Jerman called the meeting to order at 1:08 p.m.

Chancellor Spaulding provided a brief overview. The purpose for the call was to discuss approval of a resolution authorizing a transitional name change for Johnson State College and Lyndon State College for federal financial aid distribution purposes as the Colleges prepare to unify effective July 1, 2018.

General Counsel Sophie Zdatny, and Johnson State College Dean of Administration Sharron Scott provided additional background and answered questions from the committee.

Vice Chair Jerman moved to approve the resolution of the transitional name change of Johnson State College and Lyndon State College, seconded by Trustee Macfarlane

Vice Chair Jerman adjourned the meeting at 1:20 p.m.