Minutes of the Nominating Committee special meeting Friday, January 5, 2018 – APPROVED February 16, 2018

Note: These are unapproved minutes, subject to amendment and/or approval at the subsequent meeting.

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees Nominating Committee conducted a special meeting Friday, January 5, 2018 via conference call at the Office of the Chancellor in Montpelier, Vermont.

Committee members present: Jerry Diamond (Chair), Tim Jerman

Absent: Lynn Dickinson

From the Chancellor's Office: Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor

Harriet Johnson, Executive Assistance Sophie Zdatny, General Counsel

Chair Diamond called the meeting to order at 3:10 p.m.

Trustee Jerman moved and Trustee Diamond seconded the approval of the minutes of the May 15, 2017 meeting. The minutes were approved unanimously.

Chair Diamond informed the Nominating Committee he had consulted with most of the current Board of Trustee members regarding selection of the Chair and Vice Chair.

Consistent with those consultations and after Committee discussion, Chair Diamond moved to recommend Church Hindes to the Board of Trustees as Chair effective immediately upon a favorable vote of the Board, seconded by Trustee Jerman. The motion was approved unanimously.

After Committee discussion, Chair Diamond moved to recommend Lynn Dickinson to the Board of Trustees as Vice Chair effective upon the expiration of the current Vice Chair at the end of February 2018, seconded by Trustee Jerman. The motion was approved unanimously.

After Committee discussion of the recent bylaw changes, Chair Diamond moved to recommend the election of officers and Audit Committee members at the first regular Board meeting of the calendar year, slating the following list:

Church Hindes, Board of Trustees Chair (2 years) Lynn Dickinson, Board of Trustees Vice Chair (1 year) Karen Luneau, Board of Trustees Secretary (1 year) Linda Milne, Board of Trustees Treasurer (1 year)

Chair Diamond further moved to recommend the same five members currently serving on the Audit Committee for another term.

Linda Milne, Audit Committee Chair (1 year) Lynn Dickinson, Audit Committee, Vice Chair (1 year) Church Hindes, Audit Committee (1 year) Karen Luneau, Audit Committee (1 year) Michael Pieciak, Audit Committee (1 year)

The Committee also recommended electing Nominating Committee members at the March 2018 Board of Trustees Meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 3:41 p.m.