# Minutes of the Board of Trustees special meeting Thursday, July 14, 2016—APPROVED July 21, 2016

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees conducted a special meeting Thursday, July 14, 2016 via conference call and in conference room 101 of the Chancellor's Office in Montpelier, Vermont.

The following were present:

## Trustees:

By phone: Jerry Diamond, Lynn Dickinson, Morgan Easton, Church Hindes, Kraig Hannum, Tim Jerman, Jim Masland, Chris Macfarlane, Mike Pieciak

In person: Bill Lippert, Linda Milne, Martha O'Connor (Chair)

Absent: Karen Luneau, Aly Richards, Gov. Shumlin

## Office of the Chancellor:

In person: Tricia Coates, Director of External & Governmental Affairs

Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor

Yasmine Ziesler, Chief Academic & Academic Technology Officer

By phone: Steve Wisloski, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Sophie Zdatny, Associate General Counsel

## From the Colleges:

In person: Todd Comen, JSC Professor

By phone: Nolan Atkins, LSC Interim Academic Dean

Barb Flathers, JSC Assistant to the Dean of Students

Phil Petty, VTC Academic Dean Chris Smith, VTC Professor

Lit Tyler, VTC Dean of Administration Beth Walsh, JSC, VSCUP President

# From the Public:

In person: Shelly Holt Allen, WCAX

Pat Moulton, Secretary, VT Agency of Commerce & Community Development

Tim O'Connor

Chair O'Connor called the meeting to order at 12:05 p.m.

#### 1. Appointment of an Interim President to Lyndon State College

Trustee Milne moved pursuant to 16 V.S.A. §2174 that the Board appoint Nolan Atkins interim president of Lyndon State College subject to terms and conditions of employment negotiated with the Chancellor. Trustee Jerman seconded, and the Board approved the motion unanimously.

### 2. Appointment of an Interim President to Vermont Technical College

Trustee Milne moved pursuant to 16 V.S.A. §2174 that the Board appoint Patricia Moulton interim president of Vermont Technical College subject to terms and conditions of employment negotiated with the Chancellor. Trustee Jerman seconded, and the Board approved the motion unanimously.

#### 3. Comments from the Public

There were no comments from the public.

Trustee Milne moved and Trustee Jerman seconded to adjourn. Chair O'Connor adjourned the meeting at 12:17 p.m.