

OFFICE OF THE CHANCELLOR

575 STONE CUTTERS WAY PO Box 7 MONTPELIER VT 05601

VERMONT STATE COLLEGES

CASTLETON UNIVERSITY

COMMUNITY COLLEGE OF VERMONT

JOHNSON STATE COLLEGE

VERMONT TECHNICAL COLLEGE

LYNDON STATE COLLEGE

August 11, 2016

TO: Long Range Planning Committee

> Jerry Diamond, Chair Lynn Dickinson Kraig Hannum **Church Hindes** Tim Jerman

Karen Luneau, Vice Chair

Martha O'Connor

Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor FROM:

RE: Long Range Planning Committee Special Meeting on August 24, 2016

The Long Range Planning Committee of the VSC Board of Trustees will hold a regular meeting on Wednesday, August 24th starting at 12:30 p.m. in Room 101 at the Chancellor's Office in Montpelier. The agenda and materials are attached.

I can be reached at (802) 224-3036 if you have any questions.

Thank you.

VSC Board of Trustees cc: Council of Presidents

VERMONT STATE COLLEGES BOARD OF TRUSTEES LONG RANGE PLANNING COMMITTEE MEETING

August 24, 2016 at 12:30 p.m.

AGENDA

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the July 20, 2016 meeting
- 3. Update on system-wide efficiency efforts
- 4. Update on progress of strategic alliance between CCV/VTC
- 5. Update on development of report regarding possible unification of JSC and LSC
- 6. Other business
- 7. Comments from the public

Unapproved minutes of the Long Range Planning Committee meeting Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Note: These are unapproved minutes, subject to amendment and/or approval at the subsequent meeting.

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees Long Range Planning Committee conducted a meeting Wednesday, July 20, 2016 in Hoff Hall at Castleton University.

Committee members present: Jerry Diamond (Chair), Kraig Hannum, Church Hindes, Tim Jerman, Martha O'Connor

Absent: Lynn Dickinson, Karen Luneau

Other Trustees: Morgan Easton, Bill Lippert, Chris Macfarlane, Aly Richards

Chancellor's Office Staff: Tricia Coates, Director of External & Governmental Affairs

Sheilah Evans, System Controller/Senior Director of Financial

Operations

Bill Reedy, General Counsel

Elaine Sopchak, Executive Assistant to the Chancellor

Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor

Steve Wisloski, Chief Financial Officer Sophie Zdatny, Associate General Counsel

Yasmine Ziesler, Chief Academic & Academic Technology

Officer

College Presidents: Joe Bertolino, Elaine Collins, Joyce Judy, Dan Smith, Dave Wolk

From the Colleges: Martha Coulter, Wellness Center Director, Castleton

Scott Dikeman, Dean of Administration, Castleton

Gillian Galle, Professor, Castleton

Loren Loomis Hubbell, Dean of Administration, LSC Laura Jakubowski, Director of Finance, Castleton Billy Langlois, Staff Federation Chair, Castleton

Louis Palmer, Professor, Castleton

Jillian Rader, Area Coordinator, Castleton Sharron Scott, Dean of Administration, JSC Jonathan Spiro, Academic Dean, Castleton Sharon Twigg, Interim Academic Dean, JSC Beth Walsh, VSCUP President Jeff Weld, Dean of Advancement, Castleton Shaun Williams, Area Coordinator, Castleton

Chair Diamond called the meeting to order at 2:10 pm.

1. Approval of the minutes of the May 19, 2016 meeting

Trustee Jerman moved and Trustee Hindes seconded the approval of the minutes. The minutes were approved unanimously.

2. Consider the Chancellor's recommendations for next steps regarding alliances between Johnson State College and Lyndon State College, as well as Community College of Vermont and Vermont Technical College

Chancellor Spaulding shared with the Committee his recommendations for the unification of Johnson State and Lyndon State Colleges, and for a more informal collaboration between Vermont Tech and Community College of Vermont. Chair Diamond invited Presidents Bertolino and Collins to share their comments. Trustee Jerman moved and Trustee Hannum seconded the resolution Chancellor's Recommendation to Unify Johnson State College and Lyndon State College. Chair Diamond invited comments from the public.

Beth Walsh stated she feels unification is an appropriate solution for northern Vermont. As union president she offered assistance in collecting staff input. Loren Loomis Hubbell stated that the efficiencies to be gained will allow the colleges to focus on their missions and to focus their resources on students. She emphasized that unification should result in two colleges with shared leadership, not one college with a satellite, and asked for patience with governance processes and transition. Jonathan Spiro stated he applauds the unification plan.

The Committee voted unanimously to approve the resolution and recommend it to the full Board.

3. Other Business

There was no other business.

4. Comments from the Public

There were no further comments from the public.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:01 p.m.