Minutes of the Board of Trustees regular meeting Wednesday, May 25, 2016 APPROVED July 21, 2016

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees conducted a regular meeting Wednesday, May 25, 2016 in the Burke Mountain Room, Lyndon State College, Lyndonville, Vermont.

The following were present:

Trustees: Jerry Diamond, Lynn Dickinson, Church Hindes, Tim Jerman (Vice Chair), Bill Lippert, Karen Luneau, Chris Macfarlane, Jim Masland, Linda Milne, Martha O'Connor (Chair), Mike Pieciak, Aly Richards, Ben Simone

Absent: Kraig Hannum

Presidents: Joe Bertolino, Elaine Collins, Joyce Judy, Dan Smith

Office of the Chancellor:

Elaine Sopchak, Executive Assistant to the Chancellor Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor Sophie Zdatny, Associate General Counsel Yasmine Ziesler, Chief Academic and Academic Technology Officer

From the Colleges:

Thom Anderson, LSC Associate Dean for Academic Programs and Faculty Nolan Atkins, LSC Interim Academic Dean Tanya Bradley, LSC Director of Financial Aid Derek Campbell, LSC Adjunct Faculty, Music and Performing Arts Christina Cotnoir, LSC Assistant to the Dean of Students Dan Daley, LSC Professor, Math and Vice Chair of Faculty Assembly Jonathan Davis, LSC Dean of Students Mike Dente, LSC Chief Technology Officer Miranda Fox, LSC Registrar Sandy Franz, LSC Director of Human Resources Joe Gittleman, LSC Professor, Music and Performing Arts Kate Gold, LSC Director of Advising Resources Jenny Harris, LSC Executive Director of Development and Alumni Affairs Loren Loomis Hubbell, LSC Dean of Administration David Johnston, LSC Professor, English, Philosophy, and Film Studies and Chair of **Faculty Federation** Brandon Heanssler, LSC Web & Digital Designer

Greer Lemnah, LSC Content Specialist & Social Media Coordinator Sara Lussier, LSC Assistant Director of Annual Giving Vinnie Maloney, LSC Director of Admissions Meaghan Meachem, LSC Professor, Electronic Journalism Arts Darcie Miles, Executive Assistant to the President Ann Nygard, Director, LSC Director of the Center for Rural Entrepreneurship Zane Pfefferle, LSC Professor, Exercise Science Sylvia Plumb, LSC Executive Director of Communications and Marketing Erin Rossetti, LSC Director of Student Life Sam Roya, LSC Center for Rural Entrepreneurship Chris Ummer, LSC Director of Athletics

- Guests: Lyndsay Calkins-Beattie Brady Callahan Adrian Guyer Sierra Hargrave John Kascenska Kimberly Watson
- From the Public: Daren Houck, Headmaster, Lyndon Institute Heidi Pelletier, former trustee

The meeting began at 3 pm. President Bertolino gave a presentation about Lyndon State College.

President Bertolino and Lyndon Institute Headmaster Darren Houck discussed the Lyndon Learning Collaborative and the current working relationship between the two institutions.

Academic Dean Dr. Nolan Atkins updated the Board on the work of the Curriculum Task Force.

Ann Nygard shared a presentation on LSC's new Hospitality & Tourism Management certification program and the LSC Center for Professional Studies.

Student and Alumni Panel

LSC Dean of Students Jonathan Davis moderated a panel of current students and alumni to share their experiences while attending LSC and the benefits their LSC education brought to their lives and careers.

Lyndsay Beattie '09, Exercise Science and Accounting Brady Callahan '15, Mountain Recreation Management Adrian Guyer '07, Exercise Science Sierra Hargrave '17, Psychology and Human Services John Kascenska '82, Recreation Kimberly Watson '18, Elementary Education

The Board adjourned at 5:30 pm. The Board then joined staff, faculty, and students for dinner at President Bertolino's home. The Board adjourned after dinner to return at 9 a.m. on May 26th.