## Minutes of the Board of Trustees special meeting Friday, March 11, 2016 – APPROVED May 26, 2016

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees conducted a special meeting Friday, March 11, 2016 via conference call and in conference room 101 of the Chancellor's Office in Montpelier, Vermont.

The following were present:

Trustees: Jerry Diamond, Kraig Hannum, Tim Jerman, Karen Luneau, Chris Macfarlane, Linda Milne, Martha O'Connor (Chair), Aly Richards

Absent: Lynn Dickinson, Church Hindes, Bill Lippert, Jim Masland, Mike Pieciak, Ben Simone

Office of the Chancellor: Elaine Sopchak, Executive Assistant to the Chancellor Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor Steve Wisloski, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

From the Colleges: Loren Loomis Hubbell, LSC Dean of Administration

From the Public: Steve Zind, Vermont Public Radio

Chair O'Connor called the meeting to order at 12:32 p.m.

## A. ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND ACTION

## 1. <u>Grant Approval: VMEC NIST Grant – Hollings Manufacturing Extension Partnership</u>

Trustee Diamond moved and Trustee Luneau seconded the resolution. Chair O'Connor called for a roll call vote. Results:

Trustee Diamond	Yes	Trustee Macfarlane	Yes
Trustee Hannum	Yes	Trustee Milne	Yes
Trustee Jerman	Yes	Trustee O'Connor	Yes
Trustee Luneau	Yes	Trustee Richards	Yes

The resolution passed unanimously.

## 2. <u>Revision to Policy 417: Tuition Discount for Students Age 60 and Over</u>

Trustee Diamond moved and Trustee Milne seconded the resolution. Chancellor Spaulding explained the proposed revisions to the policy and requested an amendment to the resolution that the revised policy not take effect until Fall semester 2016. Trustee Diamond and Trustee Milne accepted the friendly amendment to the resolution. Chair O'Connor called for a roll call vote. Results:

Trustee Diamond	Yes	Trustee Macfarlane	Yes
Trustee Hannum	Yes	Trustee Milne	Yes
Trustee Jerman	Yes	Trustee O'Connor	Yes
Trustee Luneau	Yes	Trustee Richards	Yes

The resolution as amended passed unanimously.

Chair O'Connor adjourned the meeting at 12:42 p.m.