Minutes of the Board of Trustees special meeting Wednesday, February 11, 2015, APPROVED by the Board of Trustees February 19, 2015.

The Vermont State Colleges Board of Trustees conducted a special meeting Wednesday, February 11, 2015 at the Office of the Chancellor in Montpelier, Vermont.

The following were present:

Trustees: Jerry Diamond, Lynn Dickinson, Kraig Hannum, Tim Jerman, Bill Lippert, Karen Luneau, Chris Macfarlane, Jim Masland, Linda Milne, Gary Moore, Martha O'Connor, Alyssa Slaimen

Absent: Michelle Fairbrother, Heidi Pelletier

Presidents: Joe Bertolino, Joyce Judy, Barbara Murphy, Dan Smith, Dave Wolk

From the Chancellor	s Office: Tricia Coates, Director, External & Governmental Affairs Bill Reedy, General Counsel Tom Robbins, CFO Elaine Sopchak, Executive Asst. to the Chancellor Jeb Spaulding, Chancellor Sophie Zdatny, Associate General Counsel Yasmine Ziesler, Chief Academic & Academic Tech Officer
From the Colleges:	Tess Conant, VSC United Professionals Scott Dikeman, Dean of Administration, Castleton State College Janis Henderson, Staff Federation Unit Chair Loren Loomis Hubbell, Dean of Administration, Lyndon State College Sara Kinerson, JSC Dir. of Advising, Presidential Search Committee Ken Leslie, JSC Professor, Presidential Search Committee Member Barbara Martin, Dean of Administration, Community College of VT Sandy Noyes, Unit Vice Chair, VSEA Represented Staff Maurice Ouimet, CSC Dean of Enrollment Phil Petty, VTC Academic Dean Sharron Scott, Dean of Administration, Johnson State College Lit Tyler, Dean of Administration, Vermont Technical College Jamey Ventura, JSC Dir. of Athletics, Presidential Search Committee
From the Public:	Nasser Abdel-Fatah, JSC Student, President, VSCSA Benjamin Simone, JSC Student, President, JSC SGA

Chair O' Connor called the meeting to order at 5:02 p.m. Trustee Moore moved that the Board enter executive session pursuant to 1 V.S.A. §313(a)(3) for the purpose of deliberating the appointment of a public official—namely, the President of Johnson State College. Those permitted in the executive session include the members of the Board of Trustees and the Chancellor. Trustee Jerman seconded the motion and the Board voted unanimously to enter executive session at 5:04 p.m.

The Board exited executive session at 5:15 p.m and took the following action. Trustee Diamond moved that the Board appoint Dr. Elaine Collins to be the next President of Johnson State College under the terms and conditions discussed between the Chancellor and Dr. Collins. The term of office will commence on July 1, 2015. In explanation of its action, the Board believes that Dr. Collins is the right person to lead Johnson State College in the coming years. Trustee Moore seconded the motion. The Board approved the motion unanimously.

Chancellor Spaulding informed the Board that he has been in contact with Dr. Collins, and she has accepted the position.

Trustee Macfarlane moved and Trustee Lippert seconded a motion to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 5:20 p.m.